Utah/Arizona trip

9 09 2009

Well i took a much needed 4 day vacation this labor Day weekend and went on a road trip to do some mountain biking with my buddy Brandon. The first place we hit was Gooseberry Mesa. I’ve been there before, and it’s loads of fun. I wish it was a bit longer, but it was a great warm-up after a few weeks off from riding due to a broken hand.
Later that day we hit up the Jem Trail, which was also pretty fun yet short. We crossed the highway and rode up some other trail back to the car.
Brandon was having issues with his rear brake and took a good digger at Gooseberry so we stoped down to Over The Edge, a local bike shop in Hurricane. My friend David told me to hit up the mechanic (also named Dave) for some trail info, so it was a planned trip anyways.
Dave was extremely helpful, and not only fixed Brandon’s brake, but showed us some new loops on the map. I shamelessly plugged my shwag while i was there, and to my surprise he was already aware of it.
So on to that night… Brandon and i had decided to camp out in the Little Creek Mesa area and ride it in the morning. We’ve ridden there before, but it was one of our favorites so we were both amped on it. We woke up and began our ride. This was the third time i rode my new GF Rig, so i was still getting used to it. Brandon had the same bike, but he had bought it earlier this year. I was pretty happy with how it handled overall. Some stuff definitely seemed easier, but there was some stuff that i couldn’t clear that i had cleared in the past. I think it was mostly due to the tires and the weight of the bike, since my PUSS was at least 4lbs lighter. Other than that, it seemed to roll over alot, and my confidence definitely went up.
After our ride, we both took a good nap and woke up unsure what to do next. Brandon mentioned Flagstaff and Sedona Arizona the day before, so we decided to go for it. We rolled into Flagstaff that evening, and got a room at Motel 6.
The next morning, we began our ride. It started with a decent climb up a fire road then followed by a good amount of fast, flowy single track. There were some techy rocky sections, but overall it was a quick ride. I wouldn’t have minded sticking around a little longer but we decided just to roll on through to Sedona.
Now this was my favorite ride of the weekend. There were tons of technical ups and downs, some ridable, some not. The red rock was amazing, much like the slick rock at Gooseberry, but a bit more technical. I definitely pushed the limits on some sections, but the bike definitely inspired a bit more confidence. There were some pretty huge step-ups that i went for and amazingly cleared. Adrenaline was flowing, and a little luck was definitely on my side. I’m not sure if it was a few days of riding in a row that did it or if it was just pure adrenaline, but i just had an awesome day.
Anyways, that was pretty much the end of it aside from a very long drive home through the desert with no a/c. I was pretty excited to get home and see the dogs. I never like leaving Max, but the fact that i just got a new puppy (Mya) just made it worse. Those 2 have become best of friends thankfully. 

Brandon (left) and i (right)

Brandon

Brandon

Me

me again

some fun shit

Brandon

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

